Clinics & telehealth / Industry update
HHS Peptide Policy: Merchant Accounts
What does the October 30 HHS peptide notice mean for merchant accounts? Separate clinical compounding policy from payment acceptance and RUO research sales.
By MerchantBridge Advisors | Published October 30, 2026 | 4 min read
Research checked October 30, 2026 | Development: October 30, 2026

What changed with the October 30 notice?
The HHS notice was published in the Federal Register on October 30, 2026, following its October 28 public-inspection filing. It announces a draft enforcement-discretion policy for certain peptide compounding under section 503A and invites comments for two weeks after publication under docket HHS-OASH-2026-0496.
The notice calls the policy nonbinding and subject to reconsideration. Publication of the notice is not FDA approval of a compounded drug, final rulemaking on the 503A bulks list or confirmation that a particular business may launch a service. This payment-focused briefing is not legal or medical advice; qualified advisers should assess the current policy and applicable requirements.
Sources: HHS / Office of the Federal Register: Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances; US Department of Health and Human Services: HHS Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances; Stripe: Prohibited and Restricted Businesses List - FAQs; MerchantBridge Advisors: Telehealth Payments: Who Charges Whom?
Which businesses and substances does it concern?
The HHS policy describes conditional enforcement discretion for compounding by state-licensed pharmacies, federal facilities and licensed physicians. Appendix A lists BPC-157, Epitalon, KPV, MOTS-c, Semax and TB-500. The full document includes identity, sourcing, testing, reporting, labeling and patient-specific prescription conditions. These examples are not a complete compliance checklist.
MerchantBridge analysis: identify the proposed business activity before interpreting a headline as a commercial opportunity. A clinic, a dispensing pharmacy and a research-product storefront have different roles. A substance appearing in an appendix does not make those roles interchangeable.
Does this establish approval for a merchant account?
No payment-provider approval is established by the notice or policy. MerchantBridge's interpretation is that a merchant should still confirm acceptance of the actual service, product, charging entity and transaction flow with the proposed provider. Do not announce a payment method or begin charging for a new activity on the assumption that a policy headline resolves underwriting.
Stripe's telemedicine FAQ illustrates a separate provider review: it describes case-by-case decisions and possible requests for licensing and process information. That is one provider's published approach, not a response to this HHS notice, a MerchantBridge partnership claim or evidence that a particular peptide business is accepted.
What should a clinic or telehealth operator prepare?
Prepare a short change brief that shows who provides each service and who collects each payment. For example, a licensed clinic might charge for a consultation while a separate pharmacy charges for a prescribed product. A proposal in which the clinic collects a combined amount is a different payment flow and should be disclosed as such.
Ask qualified advisers to address the regulatory position. Give the payment provider the operational facts it requests, without patient records. The practical objective is to explain the proposed transaction clearly enough for the provider to say what it can consider and what further evidence it needs.
- Identify the clinic, prescriber, pharmacy and charging entity, including relevant operating locations.
- Describe what each charge covers: a consultation, ongoing service or separate product order.
- Explain payment timing, cancellation, refunds and customer support responsibilities.
- List the booking platform, gateway and recurring-payment requirements that need compatibility checks.
- Ask which changes require provider review before launch; do not assume existing account acceptance extends to a new activity.
What does this mean for an RUO peptide seller?
Keep the research-sales description factual and separate from any clinical proposal. Do not present research products as approved for human use because of this notice, or label clinical services as RUO transactions. If a business is considering a distinct licensed clinical operation, explain its entities and activities separately and obtain appropriate professional advice.
MerchantBridge can review licensed U.S. clinic and telehealth payment requirements for potential partner introductions. Acceptance of a specific treatment, product, pharmacy arrangement, integration or non-U.S. operation must be confirmed individually. Our existing clinic payment-flow guide provides the preparation framework; this update explains why the new HHS notice does not replace that review.
What does this mean for your processing?
Planning a change to a licensed U.S. clinic or telehealth business? Request Processing Review with your website, charging entities, services and proposed payment flow. MerchantBridge can explore potential payment partners. Specific product and service acceptance requires confirmation; do not include patient records.
Free review. No MerchantBridge review or referral fee.
Sources & context
- Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances
HHS / Office of the Federal Register | Published October 30, 2026 | Checked October 30, 2026
Published notice 2026-22192, 91 FR 68526: October 30 publication, October 28 filing, draft/nonbinding status and two-week comment period. No product approval, payment approval or separate effective date inferred.
- HHS Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances
US Department of Health and Human Services | Publication date not stated | Checked October 30, 2026
Pages 1-4 establish the limited clinical compounding scope, conditional approach and six-substance list. This source does not establish provider acceptance, permission for RUO human-use marketing or a complete compliance checklist.
- Prohibited and Restricted Businesses List - FAQs
Stripe | Publication date not stated | Checked October 30, 2026
Telemedicine FAQ states case-by-case review and potential licensing/process information requests. Verified in the current page content; not a provider response to this notice or a MerchantBridge partner claim.
- Telehealth Payments: Who Charges Whom?
MerchantBridge Advisors | Published October 29, 2026 | Checked October 30, 2026
Related published MerchantBridge guide on preparing a payment-flow brief. Advisory context rather than regulatory authority or product acceptance evidence.
MerchantBridge analysis is separate from the source publishers' statements. References do not imply a partnership or endorsement. Provider policies can change. MerchantBridge is a payments advisory and referral business; partners determine eligibility and account terms. This article is general business information, not legal, medical or regulatory advice.